THIS ALBUM KILLS CANCER, a 54-band digital-only compilation, to aid North Carolina musician Shayne Miel

"This Album Kills Cancer," 54 tracks of original indie rock, metal, punk, and folk from across America and around the world, is now available exclusively as a digital download for a $15 donation at One hundred percent of the money raised by sales of the album goes directly to musician Shayne Miel, to help with the costs of his cancer treatments. The compilation features exclusive tracks from The English Beat, Paul Sanchez, The Cucumbers, Rick Barry, The Winter Sounds, and many more.

In November of 2009, Shayne Miel, the frontman of the North Carolina indie band The Future Kings Of Nowhere (, was diagnosed with stage IV lymphoma. Like so many Americans today, he does not have sufficient medical insurance, and the cost of treatment has been a substantial financial challenge to Shayne and his family.

When Lazlo - the force behind NJ-based Internet radio station and the host of Lazloís Den - heard of his friendís Shayne plight, he responded not just with sympathy, but action.

"On January 6, I emailed many of the bands I have met over nine years of doing, asking if any of them would donate a previously unreleased track for a benefit album," Lazlo recalls. "Having 54 artists so willing to help was extremely moving, and a testament to how giving musicians can be to help others. I initially hoped to get an albumís worth of material; instead, we ended up with three albums worth of songs, which is wonderful."

"It was very important to me that all the money raised goes to Shayne to help with his medical bills," Lazlo stresses. "We worked it out so that people will be using Shayneís PayPal account to purchase the album, so 100% of the money will go directly to him."

Shayne has been keeping a blog of his experiences with cancer, which you can read at

In addition to the benefit album, there will be two benefit concerts for Shayne happening in New Jersey.

  The first will take place at the Championship Bar (931 Chambers St., Trenton, NJ) on Sunday March 7. The line-up for this concert will feature sets from The Tea & Whiskey, Static Radio, The Timid Roosevelts, Lemuria, Post No Bills, The Sirs, Curious Buddies, Radio Exiles, Full of Fancy.

The second will be an acoustic music marathon, Saturday, March 27, at Buddies Tavern (277 Johnsons Lane, Parlin (Sayreville), NJ). The show will begin at 7 pm and feature sets from Christian Beach, David Huff, Greg D, J Orellana (The Tea & Whiskey), Jeannie O'Neil & Thomas Martin, Jeff Schroeck, Jim Testa, Joe Canzano, Jonathan Andrew, Joshua Van Ness, Julian Peterson, Matt Colligan, Montagna & The Mouth To Mouth, Pete Jager, Scruff (Tea & Whiskey), The Break Evens, The Wag, Tony Tedesco, Zigman Bird, and Joe Jack Talcum (The Dead Milkmen).

More information on the album and the shows can be found on and

This Album Kills Cancer" track listing


The Future Kings Of Nowhere - Let's Be Pirates! (live @

The Tea & Whiskey - Pray For Shayne

The English Beat - They Call It Ska (live)

Red Flag Fleet - Quotidian Oblivion

The Winter Sounds - Bird On Fire

Fairmont - Oh Your Bitter Heart

Citified - Sleepsound

Paul Sanchez - All of My Might (alternate version)

Greg D - In The Name Of

Grover Kent - Running Out of Ramones (acoustic)

The Tremors - Late Night Drive-in Monster Show

Cropduster - Giving It All Away

The Crayons - See My Eyes

Rick Barry - Audrey There You Are (live from the penthouse)

Kaitlyn Raido - Hating You

The Good Graces - Pepper

The Cucumbers - The Boss's Song

Zigman Bird - New Stuff (live @

State Run Media - From The Fire

Brett Fuentes - Nightfall On A Budding June

Jeannie O'Neil & Thomas Martin - Silver Train


Drew & The Medicinal Pen - Baking In The Sun

John Raido & Friends - I Don't Mind

Bruce Piephoff - Rosalita (live @ Dotmatrix Project)

Hey Tiger - Say Nothing (acoustic)

Christian Beach - Baby's Back In Town

Pete Jager - Day and Night

The Raving Knaves - Black and White World

The Heshers - Cloud

Jim Testa - The WE Fest Song

Jonathan Andrew - I Am No Longer Important to You (live)

Keith Monacchio - Dynamite

Matt Colligan - A New Day (live @

Possum Jenkins - Burn These Leaves (live @ Dotmatrix Project)

Jason Didner - Salt and Sand

Brett Harris - Perpetual Motion

The Break Evens - Crime Spree

Rik Mercaldi - Sliding

Joe Whyte - It's A Shame

The Wigg Report - Good Times

Jon Caspi - Smile (live)

Colie Brice - Jersey Blues (remix)

Tony Tedesco - Shine On


Montagna & The Mouth To Mouth - Unabomber Blues

Decoration Ghost - Camera Bag And A Backpack (live @ Dotmatrix Project)

The Bronzed Chorus - hiding in the woods (live @ Dotmatrix Project)

The LawnDarts - Tell Me Why

Workday/Schoolnight - My Creation

The Successful Failures - Sinkhole

Project Tritium - Affectus Incognitus (live @ Dotmatrix Project)

Julian Peterson - Music Only We Can Hear

Kristen Leigh - Stouffer Chemical Company (live @ Dotmatrix Project)

Mimi Cross - Nitelite

The Wag - Setting Sun (alternate version)